Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#10616656 - 08/22/24 07:08 AM Used car buying (process) help ...
furball Offline
Post Master Sr

Loc: Toronto, ON
So, newbie here ...

We're in the market for a kid-hauler of some sort, SUV that's 5-person 90% of the time, with an 'emergency' jump-seat/7-passenger about ~5-6 times/yr. No minivans even though I think it's a good idea.

Couple of variables here:
- Wife's lease coming up. New vehicle needs to be a lease (write-off)
- Trading in my TLX is an option. (paid off) -- i.e. I pick up a used or new, but bigger than TLX.
- We need 2 vehicles. At least 1 of them should be '6+ seating'
- Good time to switch up one of the vehicles to EV; wife drives daily.

1) Anyone use Clutch? Is it 'as simple' as it looks re: selling a vehicle?
- Do you get paid HST for the value of the vehicle?
- Wife said something something about trading in the TLX cuz it lowers the amount of HST, which, doesn't make sense. (i.e. do 1 transaction vs Clutch + buy (new/used))

2) Safety / inspection?
- Safety is simply ~$200 mechanic inspection, a standard checklist (i.e. mm depth on tires, % remaining on brake pads, etc?), and govt form?
- If a used-car dealer is charging $700-1000 for this shit, can you say no and DIY? What are the pros/cons of saying no? (If saying no, would the vehicle be sold 'as-is'????)

3) Licensing
- is that simply working out the paperwork to get plates? Do used-car dealers overcharge you whereas you can DIY? (I'm getting quoted as $250 to get this done.)

4) Independent inspection
- I'd assume this would be a problem whether it's used-car dealer or private. i.e. no one wants to waste time driving the vehicle to a mechanic, etc... Unless you can find a 'mobile' mechanic? And even then, the seller might not want to open the hood/etc cuz there are other less-picky sellers?

Scanning thru AutoTrader/etc, we're seeing smaller used-car dealers, private sales, etc... so this is all new to us.